Fort Harrison State Park

Today was my first birding day post-degree, so I spent about four hours wandering around Fort Harrison State Park in Lawrence, Indiana. It wasn’t a great day for photos, but I got two lifers (Hooded Warbler and Red-Eyed Vireo!) on my tally of 37 species identified.

Indigo Bunting

Indigo Bunting

I saw about three times as many Indigo Buntings at Fort Harrison as I have on every other day of my life combined. The jamboree began immediately, as one of these was the very first bird I saw as I was still in my car driving to the trail head.

Indigo Bunting (Female)

Indigo Bunting (Female)

This is a female. Mother Nature is sexist.

Northern Rough-Winged Swallow

Northern Rough-Winged Swallow

Some Northern Rough-Winged Swallows perched high in a tree by a lake and were very good sports about having their pictures taken.

Red-Eyed Vireo

Red-Eyed Vireo

While on the theme of drab-looking birds, here is the lone photo of a lifer that I was able to get. This is a Red-Eyed Vireo, which I actually heard the entire day without realizing what they were because they are loud and monotonous in their song, but like to hide up in treetops and don’t have any distinguishing physical features. Finally, as I was getting back into my car one sang right above my head and stayed long enough to let me take this.

It would also like to say that since I was able to bag my first Black-Throated Green Warbler and Scarlet Tanager last week, I saw them everywhere today. Maybe my eye is now trained to spot them, but I saw two separate Scarlet Tanagers and dozens and dozens of Black-Throated Green Warblers. If this pattern holds, I will see many more Vireos and Hooded Warblers on my next outing.

Tally for the day (in order of appearance):
1.) Indigo Bunting
2.) Song Sparrow (vocalization only)
3.) Carolina Chickadee
4.) American Robin
5.) Scarlet Tanager
6.) Northern Cardinal
7.) Brown-Headed Cowbird
8.) Black-Throated Green Warbler
9.) Blue Jay
10.) Tufted Titmouse
11.) Common Grackle
12.) Barn Swallow
13.) American Goldfinch
14.) Cedar Waxwing
15.) Eastern Towhee
16.) Eastern Bluebird
17.) Great Blue Heron
18.) White-Throated Sparrow (vocalization only)
19.) Baltimore Oriole
20.) House Wren
21.) Chipping Sparrow
22.) Hairy Woodpecker
23.) Hooded Warbler (lifer!)
24.) Red-Bellied Woodpecker
25.) Downy Woodpecker
26.) Pileated Woodpecker
27.) White-Breasted Nuthatch
28.) Eastern Wood Pewee
29.) Northern Flicker
30.) Canada Goose
31.) Northern Rough-Winged Swallow
32.) Chimney Swift
33.) Red-Winged Blackbird
34.) Mourning Dove (vocalization only)
35.) Brown Thrasher
36.) Gray Catbird
37.) Red-Eyed Vireo (lifer!)

Leave a Reply

