Birds of Prey at Cool Creek Park

This morning I decided to try out a new birding spot: Cool Creek Park up in Westfield. I joined a few others on a weekly bird hike and was able to spot some impressive birds of prey.

Barred Owl

Barred Owl

This Barred Owl appeared almost immediately and very unexpectedly. Early in the morning, only myself and one other gentleman were able to spot him, and the photo I got provided the proof that the hike leader needed to officially add it to the day’s tally. Also, this is a lifer for me despite being one of the more common owls.

Cooper's Hawk

Cooper’s Hawk

I kept seeing hawks (or maybe the same hawk) swooping in and out of the woods all morning, but none of them were close enough for me to get a good look. The other birders on the hike informed me it was most likely a Cooper’s Hawk, but I didn’t count it until I was leaving the park and saw this guy perching on a low branch directly in front of me. Positive ID, and a great photo too! I ended the day with only 21 species, but I am very happy with the big ‘uns I was able to log.

Leave a Reply

