GregAndBirds Presents: Black-Bellied Whistling Duck

The Black-Bellied Whistling Duck is a tropical bird with a foothold in the United States along the gulf coast. It has also been expanding its range northward in recent years, with strong patterns of vagrancy into the Midwestern and Northeastern states. However, it still triggers the rare bird alerts along the Great Lakes, and you can be sure that one in Fort Wayne is a big deal.

Black-Bellied Whistling Duck

Black-Bellied Whistling Duck

Regular readers of this blog (or even single-time readers of this blog) know that I live and die by the diagnostic shot: photographs with just enough detail to tell what bird is fuzzily, blurrily, obscuredly in the picture. Today’s feature is about as close as I get to crushing birds here, so indulge me.

Black-Bellied Low Rider

Black-Bellied Low Rider

BBWD represents life bird #250 for me, and for a milestone I could not have asked for a better bird. Not only is it a rare vagrant to my corner of the world, but it is a gorgeous duck that has hung around for five days at this point and acts totally tame.

Black-Bellied Hallux

Black-Bellied Hallux

Questions of provenance can also be put to rest, as this bird has both halluces present and accounted for and no band to be seen.

Black-Bellied Lift Off

Black-Bellied Lift Off

I managed to hang out with this bird for quite a while after work, significantly calming my nerves after thoughts that I may have missed it. I planned to chase it on my lunch break, but a car had somehow wrecked itself on the only exit ramp to my parking garage, effectively blocking everybody in and making me hyperventilate in anxiety over the thoughts that the bird would fly and I would miss it by a matter of hours. No worries though. This bird was super cool.

Black-Bellied Mallard Head

Black-Bellied Mallard Head

It even had a sense of humor, posing in comparison with some of the less desirable birds that it shared a pond with.

Trash Birds

Trash Birds

In fact, the company this bird kept made it all the more sexy by comparison. It was associating with some of the worst trash birds out there: dumped 4H geese, manky hybrid Mallards, and crippled Canada Geese, all of which are expected in the highly-trafficked, highly-peopled, highly hot-dog-bunned Shoaff Lake next to the Fort Wayne Children’s Zoo.

Stumpy

Stumpy

By comparison, this was like Shaquille O’Neal playing for the Washington Generals.

Black-Bellied Whistling Duck

Black-Bellied Whistling Duck

I will say this is a bird I have fantasized about. Although in my fantasies when it shows up in Indiana I am the one finding it. You can’t win them all, but I this wasn’t a bad consolation prize.

2 thoughts on “GregAndBirds Presents: Black-Bellied Whistling Duck

  1. Nice Man. BBWD is a great friggin bird anywhere, and they’re not always accommodating. I appreciate peg leg CAGO though too, and also the Washington Generals reference.

    • Thanks. I wanted to make a reference along the lines of the 1980s Lego space monorail being built on the Island of Misfit Toys, but figured I would reach a larger audience by invoking Shaq.

Leave a Reply

