Random Exploration

In my new job, I have the privilege of roaming the state of Indiana in search of cool, abandoned places. Recently, I have been exploring North-Central Indiana, where the place names are a random juxtaposition of Native American (Shipshewanna, Kankakee) and Polish (Kosciusko, Pulaski). I have seen some interesting things.

Blight

Blight

A decomposing power plant in Warsaw.

Decay

Decay

An abandoned motel in Philadelphia, IN.

Vacancy

Vacancy

I can’t even fathom when was the last time someone actually rented this room.

MODO

MODO

I have seen birds too in these wanderings. Sometimes they are as common as a MODO on a barbed wire fence.

Sandhill Cranes

Sandhill Cranes

Yesterday, I came across a flock of several hundred Sandhill Cranes in a field outside San Pierre (French? Spanish?). A very cool sight, since I usually only see them as giant wave formations passing overhead and rarely on the ground.

San Pierre

San Pierre

The townspeople obviously think so too, because the welcome sign on the way into town (population: 158) depicts a lone crane. I didn’t stop to photograph it, but miraculously Wikipedia has a picture of it, so here you go.

Dapper Waxwing

Dapper Waxwing

Since this post is now just a random jumble of things, I will end it with my cool art print that I got from Berkley Illustration. I have been following this guy for a few years, and when I saw this on Instagram I had to purchase it immediately. If you are in need of a last-minute Christmas gift for that nature-enthusiast in your life, I can’t recommend his stuff enough. Besides birds, I am also partial to lumberjack chipmunk and Wes Anderson meerkat.

2 thoughts on “Random Exploration

  1. Funny that guy’s art hangs in a shop I used to walk my dogs by every morning. Had forgotten all about it till your post here.

    What the hell is your job that requires hunting down abandoned places? Sounds like a hip instagrammers dream! And mine too… sigh..

    • I work for a real estate re-developer, but not one of those evil ones. Sadly, my Instagram skills are not on-par with where they should be… who wants to see pictures of children and food?

Leave a Reply

