Foster & Fox

That would make a great name for a British-style pub, no?

Over the last two weeks my primary birding destinations were Foster Park and Fox Island. Some of the highlights:

CHSP.JPG

Chipping Sparrow

Chipping Sparrows are incredibly common early spring migrants, but I am loving my new camera.

YTWA.JPG

Yellow-throated Warbler

This Yellow-throated Warbler at Foster Park was foraging in the same tree as a Brown Creeper. Disorienting, to say the least. The juncos and creepers hung around into last week, but an outing today netted none of the strictly winter birds.

EAPH.JPG

Eastern Phoebe

I turned my bike toward Fox Island today and came up with a pleasing three dozen species. One of them was the above Eastern Phoebe imploring you to tread lightly. Earth Day vibes all over this one.

AMPI

American Pipit

It was great to have about half a dozen warblers plus a few more new migrants, but the most surprising birds of the day came before I even got to the park. A tractor was plowing a field along the road, and some Killdeer and robins were gorging on the bugs that were getting kicked up. I somehow managed to catch sight of two smaller dirt-colored birds way out in the field with them, and they turned out to be American Pipits. This is only the second time I have seen this species, and it was not on my radar at all as a possible green bird! This one plus the others I got today bumped my list up to 80 on the year.

GASN.JPG

Garter Snake

I happened across an expert local birder at Fox Island who I hiked with for about an hour. He thankfully put me on to a ton of things I would have missed otherwise (hello, Pine Warbler!) He also managed to identify this snake for me as a Garter Snake. I probably should have known that. Thanks, Rodger!

EACO1.JPG

Eastern Comma

While birds were numerous, they were less than cooperative for photos. Thank goodness for butterflies. I was actually able to call this Eastern Comma in the field thanks to the reading up on them I did last summer.

EACO2.JPG

Who gives an [expletive] about an Oxford Comma?

It also helped that the namesake punctuation mark was easily visible on the underwing.

SPAZ

Spring Azure (?)

Not as easy was this supposed Spring Azure. I will take corrections on this one. Final thought: if you use birder banding code on butterflies, this one becomes SPAZ, which is very fitting.

6 thoughts on “Foster & Fox

  1. Fox & Foster sounds delicious. Well done on all the green birds! It’s interesting to me that your creepers leave… I have never imagined one flying farther than two trees away from the tree it is creeping upon.

    • Hmm… I guess I never thought about them sticking around for the whole year. Maybe they get evicted from their niche by Black-and-white Warblers?

  2. Good shot on the Yellow-throated. And you found the secret to American Pipits. I used to know a retired birder who would watch the fields and tell us the day his local farmer would plow the land in April. For the next week pipits would be thick on the soil.

  3. Cheers Greg,

    That Pipit is very interestingly colored relative to the wintering birds we have out here too, much more rusty.

    Yellow-throated Warblers are dangerously good looking–much better than Grace’s Warblers as their western counterpart.
    Here come all the rest!

    • I think the coloration of said Pipit is an artifact of the camera, or at least that particular shot. They were much beiger in real life.

      YTWA is indeed one of the most solid of wood warblers in all aspects.

Leave a Reply

