Reviews!

I have been birding for almost five years, but before this week I never had a serious pair of binoculars. The cheap pairs I had been using are actually quite embarrassing, so I won’t talk about them here. Instead, I am now a member of Team Vortex, having bought the 8×42 Diamondback model. Verdict: they are great! They seem to be the highest rated model in their price range among almost all reviews. They work very well for me, too. 10 out of 10 after taking them for a spin at Eagle Marsh.

AMTS.JPG

American Tree Sparrow

American Tree Sparrows didn’t give me any need to break out the new bins. For easiness to see and abundance, I give them a 10 out of 10. For number of colors in their bill, they score a 2.

WCSP.JPG

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrows were (literally) chilling by the trail, providing me with a January bird that took me until October and December respectively to get on the green list the last two years. In the category of alleviating worry about missing an easy bird, White-crowned Sparrows are a 6 out of 10. They also get an 8 for looking like I had the black-and-white filter set on my camera.

MUSK.JPG

Muskrat

Muskrats only manage to get a 3 in terms of mammals you actually want to see. But they get a 9 in fooling you into thinking they are a beaver on first glance.

DSCN2220.JPG

Virginia Opossum

Virginia Opossums look way cuter than they should. They also get an 8.5 in looking like a panda.

Rabbit Remains.JPG

Eastern Cottontail Rabbit

This Eastern Cottontail Rabbit scored a zero in the category of outrunning Red-tailed Hawks.

IMG_12471.jpg

Unicorn Squirrel Feeder

Unicorn Head Squirrel Feeders score a 10 in receiving one in the mail from your sister and laughing out loud because of how random of a birthday gift they are.

20170102_153601.jpg

The Godfather?

However, they ultimately end up with a 1 for durability. This example lasted less then 24 hours before it was eaten alive.

4 thoughts on “Reviews!

  1. The unicorn head demise is unfortunate, RIP. Congrats on the new bins, we sell those ones at my work so good to hear some positive feedback on them. I am quite taken with that possum photo- I have never seen one out and about in broad daylight. Sweet!

    • The lifetime no-fault warranty really sold me on them. You should also sell unicorn heads at your store! I am sure they would attract opossums, too.

  2. Congratulations on photographing perhaps the world’s most or only cute opossum. All the ones I saw when living in TX were disgusting creatures, like the ROUSes from Princess Bride.

    I enjoyed the rankings! Now it will be hard not to picture you summarily ranking all things you observe in this way throughout your day, every day, all day.

Leave a Reply

